According to the State Law, a Fishing License is required in most circumstances in order to shrimp in the State of Florida. There are exceptions to this requirement, as noted below but for most people, a fishing license will be required.
It should be noted that a full license is required and that recently enacted shoreline fishing licenses (2009) DO meet the requirements for recreational shrimpers using the Ozello Shrimper but only those who wade into the water from shore. Shrimpers who arrive by boat will need a full license.
Recreational licenses and permits for residents and nonresidents are available at county tax collectors' offices. In addition, they are available from subagents, such as sporting goods stores or other retailers selling hunting or fishing equipment (The Bait Bucket in Tierre Verde sells them.) All license, permit, and issuance fees may be subject to change pending the outcome of this year's legislative session. Prices listed include tax collector's fee. In addition to the cost of a license or permit given in this section, an issuance fee of $.50 may be charged by the subagent selling the license or permit.0
If you have a major credit card, the FWC offers you two ways to buy your hunting or fishing license without leaving your home.
- Follow this link to information on buying your license directly over the internet. (Fees Apply)
- Dial toll-free, either 1-888-HUNT-FLORIDA (486-8356) or 1-888-FISH-FLORIDA (347-4356). (Fees Apply)
With either method, you'll have a temporary license number within minutes, enabling you to hunt (in season) or fish right away. Your permanent license will be mailed within 48 hours.
Florida Resident Saltwater Fishing Licenses
Florida Residence - Any person who has resided in Florida for six continuous months prior to the issuance of a license and who claims Florida as their primary residence or Any member of the United States Armed Forces who is stationed in Florida (includes spouse and dependent children residing in the household).
- Annual Saltwater License - $17.00
- Five Year Saltwater License - $79.00
- Saltwater/Freshwater Fishing Combo - $32.50
- Saltwater/Freshwater Fishing/Hunting Combo - $48.00
- Saltwater Shoreline License - Free (Must Still Get License)
*Note: This license type satisfies the requirements for a license ONLY if you are wade-shrimping. If you use a boat, you must purchase a full license.
Nonresident Saltwater Fishing Licenses
- Nonresident Annual Saltwater Fishing - $47.00
- Nonresident 3-Day Saltwater Fishing - $17.00
- Nonresident 7-Day Saltwater Fishing - $30.00
You DO NOT Need a License If You Are:
- Any child under 16 years of age.
- Any resident who is a member of the United States Armed Forces and not stationed in this state, when home on leave for 30 days or less, upon submission of orders.
- Any person fishing who has been accepted as a client for developmental disabilities services by the Children and Family Services, provided the department furnishes proof thereof.
- Any resident fishing in saltwater from land or from a structure fixed to the land.
- Any person fishing from a for-hire vessel (guide, charter, party boat) that has a valid vessel license.
- Any person fishing from a vessel, the operator of which has a valid vessel license issued in the name of the operator of the vessel.
- Any person who holds a valid saltwater products license (SPL).
- Any person fishing for recreational purposes from a pier that has been issued a valid pier saltwater fishing license.
- Any resident fishing for a saltwater species in fresh water from land or from a structure fixed to land.
- Any resident fishing for mullet in fresh water who has a valid Florida freshwater fishing license.
- Any resident 65 years of age or older who has in her or his possession proof of age and residency or a no-cost Florida Resident Senior Citizen license. A no-cost license may be obtained from any tax collector's office upon proof of age and residency and must be in the possession of the resident during hunting, freshwater fishing, and saltwater fishing activities.
- Any employee of the commission who takes freshwater fish, saltwater fish, or game as part of employment with the commission, or any other person authorized by commission permit to take freshwater fish, saltwater fish, or game for scientific or educational purposes.
Support Conservation & Comply with the Law, Buy a License!
Florida fishing license fees go to support conservation of our environment and fishing resources so that you and future generations will be able to continue to enjoy the outdoors sports that you have come to love. Purchase your fishing license today. Even if you are exempt from the requirements, consider purchasing a license in order to show your support for Florida wildlife conservation.
Information compiled and assembled from various sources on the Florida Fish and Wildlife website. Accuracy of links may fade with time.